Some people say advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it hasnegative social effects because it will make people dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is argued that advertisement contributes to financial benefits meanwhile others think the opposite because of the bad impact on people’s psyche.This essay will elaborate on these views and give my own perspective.

On the one hand, the commercial (on tv) can advertise the items to consumers. Businesses tend to make videos about the advantages and functions of their product then post them on social media as a way to be known more by people. Thus, the product may become popular and be sold on a large scale leading to economic development. A prime example of this is OMO’s “Family” campaign. In the past, this soap brand just retailed and provided items for markets, hence the sales were quite low. Recently, OMO launched a campaign with the purpose to give consumers access to it by trying to export this soap or get them into the supermarkets or shopping malls. These successful efforts make OMO become one of the brands with the highest sales and make a contribution to Viet Nam’s economy.

On the other hand, some businessmen exaggerating their items on the advertisement result in the undeniable negative influences on buyer’s mentality. The most evidence may be the beauty industry. They usually hire celebrities having perfect faces or bodies form the standard of beauty. These issues can lead to the lack of confidence for consumers and make them may not be satisfied with what they have. Because of believing in these cosmetics, buyers tend to buy with hopes that they can become perfect like the beauty standard. As a result, they always have the ambition to buy the latest items in the markets. If they can’t do it, they will be disappointed, dispirited and have no motivation to work.

In conclusion, although the advertisement plays an important role in a country economic development, it have demerit to people’s psychology.