Some people say advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it hasnegative social effects because it will make people dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While some people believe that advertising stimulates economic growth, others argue that commercials negatively affect society by making people unsatisfied with their current conditions. Personally speaking, I say that under certain circumstances, advertising can positively contribute to society.

On the one hand, advertising can stimulate the economy in the way of connecting the product with potential customers. Companies can use various media that perpetuate people’s lives to promote their commodities, such as TV shows, social media, and billboards. For example, manufacturers that sell power banks that can save people from dying batteries may post commercials on the traveling website as their target group of customers are people who like or plan to travel. Therefore, the companies’ revenue would rise by the increased amount of people visiting their stores or websites.

On the other hand, advertising may disrupt people’s lives by exerting financial pressure. A person who is constantly surrounded by advertising can become very desperate in terms of buying things. Whether he needs the goods or not is no longer the priority. Instead, vanity and the fear of missing out have his undivided attention. For example, the latest Loui Vuitton bag goes viral on social media after releasing successful commercials. Some Individuals would empty their entire pockets to purchase the bad just to follow the trend, without any consideration of their rent and basic survival needs.

In my opinion, commercials contribute a lot to the economy, However, individuals should only take them as a reference. Spending the money wisely is the appropriate way.

In conclusion, advertising is good for the economy, and as long as there are some regulations imposed on the commercials, the negative effects on people’s lives can be minimized.