Some people say advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it hasnegative social effects because it will make people dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the fact that whether advertising stimulates economic growth or has detrimental effects on society by fostering materialism and dissatisfaction. While I accept that advertisements are accelerating the development of the economy, I would argue that these sales tools can create unrealistic expectations and foster consumerism.

On the one hand, it can be argued that advertising brings clear a benefit to the economy. The first advantage is that business owners have long used advertising as a great tool to boost sales. Running ads for new products can bring recognition to consumers and help educate first-time buyers, moreover, introducing innovative services that never existed before to the public can stimulate customers to devote money to these services. Indeed, Nike, a company specializing in the production of sports shoes, continuously releases numerous introductions of modern shoes with thoughtful customer care services such as long-term warranty along with buy 1 get 1 free promotions that attract many buyers to spend their money on these services. As a result, the corporation of the products not only gains financial benefits from the products sold through advertising and enhancing the company’s image to be an international level, but also contributes to the growth of the advertising industry, therefore this can impulse the improvement of the economy.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that advertisements can have negative effects on society since it has been seen as a double-edged sword for people and the economy. The chief among these is that in today’s digital age, companies aggressively leverage social media platforms to amplify product visibility and drive consumer interest. However, this can affect individuals’ enjoyment of social activities leading to the stagnation of the products and the dwelling of company reputations. For instance, the constant appearance of ads on YouTube can make people feel uncomfortable while listening to music or watching movies, making them uncomfortable and unimpressed with the company of the product in the ads. Another driver of the deteriorating condition of the advertisement is the business owners do not initially concentrate on investing in advertising and see this as just a tool for fraudulent purposes making ads unreliable and losing credibility, thereby this can have undeniable negative effects on the human’s psyche. For instance, Deceptive advertisements entice consumers with extravagant claims about product performance and customer satisfaction. However, these misleading tactics not only fail to deliver on promises but also contribute to a culture of excessive consumption.

In conclusion, although I acknowledge that advertising contributes to the growth of the economy, I would contend that it can alleviate people’s satisfaction. To solve this solution, companies should be conscious of creating forms of advertising and the need for government intervention in fining widespread fraudulent advertisements to achieve the best outcome