Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To some extent do you agree or disagree?

Civilization has made individuals slip into the metropolitan lifestyle. Hence, this raises a contentious question as to whether free space should be utilized for plantation or construction. Is it really necessary to turn every free space into economic assets, or should some spaces be preserved as they are?

On the one hand, utilizing free spaces into plantations can offer substantial positive externalities: to the community and the environment. In densely populated urban areas such as Bangkok, green spaces can function as “green lungs” that help filter pollution, as well as lower the emissions, fumes. and smog. By improving air quality by mitigating the effects of PM 2.5, such initiatives can contribute immensely to the well-being of communities and overall sustainability of the city. Furthermore, communal green areas can provide spaces for outdoor pursuits such as jogging, gardening, or even social interaction – all of which can strengthen communal bonds.

On the other hand, utilizing free spaces for construction projects can further enhance the economic growth and better support the accommodation of the ever-expanding population of the city. Rapid globalization and urbanization can result in overcrowding and soaring land prices; therefore, establishing high-story residential apartments in the capitals of Singapore, Taiwan, and Japan, for example, enables these cities to accommodate the growing number of residents properly. Additionally, foreign investors or multinational corporations may feel more encouraged to invest in those cities.

In conclusion, while it is undeniable that construction addresses housing demands and boosts economic growth, I am inclined to support utilizing free spaces for plantation, as I see that prioritizing sustainability ensures long-term environmental protection and higher quality of life for residents.