Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that green spaces should be built more in cities and towns, whereas others argue that these places should be used for constructing buildings. I agree to some extent with both opinions, although I believe that green spaces should be prioritized.

On the one hand, there are some benefits that building more houses brings to city residents. Firstly, the demand for housing is increasing in many urban places, especially in big cities or metropolises. Therefore, more constructions in open areas can help address this problem. For example, in Hanoi, due to the large amount of population, the government has proposed many policies related to create more residential places. Conversely, a lack of housing can lead to higher living costs and overcrowding, bringing various stressful issues for citizens, such as a tight budget.

On the other hand, planting trees reveals greater long-term benefits to city dwellers. Urban green spaces help reduce air pollution and mitigate the effects of climate change. Additionally, they also provide people with places to relax and unwind, which can improve mental health and quality of life. A recent study in Vietnam shows that citizens living in towns with many parks and green spaces are happier and friendlier than people living in industrial zones.

To sum up, although the expansion of buildings and constructs is necessary, I agree that planting more trees and green zones should be main priority. A balance approach should be more sustainable and support create healthier and more enjoyable living environments for future generations.