Some people say now there is less communication between the family than in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the technology landscape has transformed significantly, leading to discussions about whether there is now less communication between family members than in the past. Despite various justifications, I contend that the barrier between people in the family, in most cases, lies in the unlimited development and use of technological devices

On the one hand, proponents of technological advancements often highlight time situations and place barriers as major factors. In the recent world, social platforms have connected people regardless of where they are or when they live. To explain, those living far from family can make chat, or video calls with their family member at every time. To more more specific, these technologies can make it easier for them to share updates and news with member and stay involved in their life. Furthermore, these technologies can reduce the communication gap between family members. In other words, it gives people more options to communicate in a real-time situation. For example, it is widely reported by the press that there is an upgrade in communication that people can share their feelings with their family all over the world while in the past, they had to deliver the information they wanted to say by hand-written letter. This adds credence to the point that the development of technology has an important role in communication

On the other hand, I strongly find myself aligning with the spirit of the negative impact of technology on communication. Historically, if everyone were to have more face-to-face conversations, they would not rely on technology devices. This trend has fostered distance among individuals, who can lose social skills by over-reliance on technology, which can cause a decline in face-to-face communication skills. Moreover, technology nowadays can become a distraction to people. To clarify, constant notifications and access to information. Take members of the family as an example, when people are not having a conversation with each other but bending their heads to use their own technology devices like tablets or phones to access their own world, the connection between members of the family becomes worse. Thus, it is logical to advocate the negative impact of technology for the reason that it can downgrade communication skills and distract members of the family

In conclusion, though there is some positive impact of technology on communication, I resonate more with the notion that there are more disadvantages of it. To strike a balance, people in the family need to use technology devices suitable and reasonable, thus, they need to make more family time and activities to keep in touch with each other