Some people say that E-books and modern technology will totally replace traditional newspapers and magazines to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often debated that the popularity of e-books will overthrow the usage of traditional books and magazines. I completely disagree with this statement. This essay will discuss firstly, the convenience of reading on ebooks and secondly, the necessity of having traditional books as some people cannot handle new technology.

The convenience of ebooks by far surpasses the older ways of reading. Carrying many books in a single compact device makes it a necessity in today’s fast-paced world. Apart from being less expensive, they are quick to download and easy to share with friends. The ease of access from anywhere in the world makes ebooks indispensable. For example: Friends can buy e-books on different topics and share with each other making it easy to read many books at a lesser price.

On the other hand, many people, especially the older generation, find it very difficult to handle new technology. Hence, they prefer to continue reading the traditional books and magazines. This kind of reading gives them all the information they want and is also a good way for them to pass their time as most of them are retired. In fact, most of them like to proudly display their collection of books that they have gathered over time. Physical books don’t have the threat of getting deleted due to any technical error. For instance; many old people can be sitting in parks and other recreational places, reading books and relaxing.

Though ebooks are very convenient and can help to reduce the cumbersome task of carrying heavy books, it is necessary to continue with the traditional books also for the benefit of the older generation