some people say that education should be free for everyone. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that university tuition fees should be free of charge for everyone. I acknowledge that this action could promote students chasing higher education, but in my personal view, I believe that universities should keep collecting study fees for several reasons.

On the one hand, free university fees could help and encourage students who have financial disadvantages to continue pursuing higher education. As a result, these students can have a higher chance in the workforce. With a university degree, they can have a good career and earn money to help their families get a better life. Furthermore, this also nurtures talented students who have financial burden continue to study higher. Therefore, it gives them the ability to succeed, leading to a country that has a highly-skilled workforce to boost economic development.

However, cutting down on university tuition requires a large amount of capital resources for university keeping operations. Therefore, the government has to reduce the budget in many fields such as medical, infrastructure and this leads to negative effects on the whole society. Moreover, tuition fees are like a financial commitment. It means that keeping paying this makes students appreciate studying, if not they could take education for granted and be lazy. Consequently, their academic performance could go down and lead to a result that is opposite from the desire.

In conclusion, while university free will lead to many benefits for people with financial burden, I still believe that keeping it compulsory for students to pay will not put pressure on government funds and also make the study more appreciated.