Some people say that high school programmes should include compulsory unpaid community service (for example coaching sports to younger children, helping to improve the neighbourhood, or volunteering for a charity). To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Given that some people state that mandatory unpaid community service, such as sports coaching, volunteering, and reinforcing the neighbourhood, should be included in high school programmes, I firmly agree with them on this.

The foundation for my agreement is that students who are unable to profit must be served through unpaid services, as it may provide them with an opportunity to develop well. Relying on their parents, the majority of pupils may not be able to take part in activities they are willing to. Thus, including unpaid services will be a huge encouragement for pupils to play sports and stay active, or get involved in volunteering for a charity. As a demonstration, the rate of Vietnamese students participating in sports at schools has surged from merely 500 to roughly 2000 students in recent years, following the authority’s initiative of mandatory unpaid coaching services in schools. This is a remarkable support in finance from the government, as it motivates children to stay active absent worry. Owing to the fact that these services may be a key factor for young children’s well-being, my perspective is that compulsory unpaid services inclusion in high school programmes is critically essential.

Another reason for my belief is that not only do children benefit from these free services included in school programmes, but they are also provided with a great chance of self-improvement. This is mainly because activities such as sports or volunteering have a great impact, often positive, on children’s personalities as they may provide the young an opportunity to interact with fellow youngsters. Learning from others, children will be able to develop self-discipline and confidence, thanks to frequent communication with people. In June 2025, the VTV, the national news in Vietnam, interviewed a group of students in a high school in Hanoi, and one of them admitted noticeable improvements in social skills and sports. This is the outcome when the government supports pupils and provides them with a playground, as well as an environment to share and develop with others.

To summarise, I strongly recommend that high schools include these mandatory services because not only do compulsory unpaid community services reinforce students’ progress in various aspects, but they are also the government’s effort to assist families who are in hardship and unable to afford community services.