Some people say that high school programmes should include compulsory unpaid community service (for example coaching sports to younger children, helping to improve the neighbourhood, or volunteering for a charity). To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely believed that secondary schools would be better if they included compulsory unpaid society service, for instance, providing training in sports for pupils, helping to make a better neighbourhood, and participating in charity volunteering. I partially agree with this viewpoint, and I will elaborate on more below.

First and foremost, a high school must provide the best program, especially in many subjects, helping the student gain a wide range of knowledge to help them in considering a prospective major in the university. If high school encourages its students to take part in another program, it may lead to students not focusing on their primary goals. Moreover, participating in many activities besides studying may lessen their energy to learn regularly, harming their concentration during school time. For example, students who enroll in many extracurricular activities usually get bored when they are learning in class.

On the other hand, a balanced program of both studying and community services may affect students’ characteristics, making them useful people in society. This might help them understand the current issues with mingling immediately in society. Moreover, unpaid community services could be a way for the young generation to have many relationships, which would help them to generate a positive circle and environment. Besides that, they will obtain some lessons that they do not get in formal school, developing their leadership skill at a young age. For instance, many students in Indonesia have joined social services from NGO that focus on children, the environment, and social issues. This place might force them to be a responsible person with their own duties.

In conclusion, from my standpoint, although the society services program in high school may make the student not focus on studying and worsen their concentration during learning. I believe that students who participate in social activities will have better leadership and learn about the essentials of responsibility.