Some people say that history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps the present. Discuss both the view and give your opinion.

Some individuals are of the opinion that history offers no practical benefits, while others argue that studying the past significantly contributes to comprehension of the present. In this essay, I would discuss both views before presenting my own perspective, which aligns with the latter suggestion.

On the one hand, opponents believe that history does not bring any merits to modern life. It is true that nowadays, people are encountering a lot of challenges, which have risen to unprecedented levels, such as climate change or technological advancements. For instance, when the population in the world is increasingly surged, requiring a massive demand for fuel, accommodation, and transport that results in significant energy consumption and carbon emissions. This leads to the crisis of climate change and global warming while historical knowledge seems to be outdated. Therefore, instead of concentrating on researching the past, individuals should prioritize the present and future to find new practical solutions.

On the other hand, proponents argue that understanding history is a critical element to simulate the current growth and avoid mistakes in the past. First and foremost, daily activities of people in modern life are the combination of successes and failures of past societies. Therefore, historical events help people gain an insight into the root causes from the past and provide them with valuable lessons to prevent mistakes from occurring. For example, by learning history, people deeply understand the hazardous consequences of wars. As a result, nations develop strategies to maintain world peace, promoting a peaceful and well-rounded world.

In conclusion, while some current challenges cannot be tackled effectively by the past, such as environmental degradation, individuals should understand about historical events. In my opinion, historical knowledge, which equips individuals with essential skills and valuable lessons, plays an indispensable role in boosting global growth and navigating the future.