Some people say that history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps the present. Discuss both the view and give your opinion.

People hold different views on whether history is of little relevance or it plays a crucial role in understanding the way people live today. Although the study of history can be overwhelming due to its vast and complex nature , I firmly believe that it is essential for helping humanity to stay connected with societal developments.

One argument for downplaying the value of history is the growing impact of technological advancement. In today’s digital era, people have become increasingly absorbed in virtual life, often neglecting the reflections on the past. People are more inclined to invest their time in personal growth by learning contemporary fields including information technology, nanotechnology, digital marketing and online trading. Consequently, the relevance of history appears to be diminishing, as modern society put greater emphasis on future-oriented skills rather than historical understanding.

However, the opposite argument is that history teaches a lot. It should be considered as the primary knowledge everyone should acquire. That is to say, history reveals how the ways of living changed throught the period and the development stages taken place in individuals growth by realizing mistakes which were done in past and making right decisions for future before taking any attempts. For example, Fall in Rome in history shows that nothing can endure forever unless people remain united, highlighting the national disunity during the invasions and attacks, which caused a dramatic crumbling of the country as a whole.

Thus, I strongly believe that history has an enormous power to determine failures of the society in the past and contributes to make strong decisions in future by giving humanity greater lessons from the flaws.

In conclusion, history sometimes seems as an intricate sphere to study with its vast information. However, in my point of view, if people could recognize how the valuable of historical events are, they might love studying their past and strengthen their cultural background and critical thinking by the significant lessons the ancient world taught.