Some people say that it is better to work for a large company than a small one. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include ay relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some people are of the opinion that it is better to be a part of a large company, others disagree with the statement. I believe that both has its advantages as well as disadvantages which I would further explain in the essay.

On one hand, securing a job in a big firm comes with its numerous advantages like the opportunity to work on big-scale projects and working in a team of skilled people with years of experience. To illustrate, big companies can bag massive and remarkable projects based on their reputation and experience in the industry whereas smaller companies would not have enough resources or contacts in the field. Moreover, companies with many employees have a great balance of amateur and skilled employees which makes learning and working with them interesting and enriching. On the other hand, work in big companies is often divided among many people and the chance of getting to work on all areas of the project is minimized, limiting the development of skills to a particular aspect of the project.

On the contrary, employees working in a small or medium-sized firm would be able to gain experience and learn lessons swiftly as they must achieve targets by themselves in a particular sector with no support of teammates due to limited number of employees, making them an all-rounder. Another advantage is that the bond between employees is stronger as working with a close group could facilitate decision making and seeking solutions to an issue. However, the disadvantage here would be that small companies will more likely be awarded smaller project in comparison to a large firm. Sometimes, this drawback cuts down one’s chances of working on challenging yet grand projects which in itself could be disheartening.

To conclude, it is upon an individual to choose what size of firm is suitable for them. Both offer its pros and cons, and it could be a choice that one must make. Either way one could learn and gain significant amount of knowledge and skill by working for a company. It fosters growth and success in one’s career.