Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that clothes can represent cultures and characters of individuals.While, a few people believe that clothing style can reveal the personality of people, I firmly disagree with this notion as there is uniformity in clothing fashion due to globalisation.

To begin with, it has been noticed that majority of people are choosing same kind of clothes. The prominent reason behind this is influence of globalisation. Nowadays, folks have access to buy any items from any part of world without restrictions. As consequence, masses looks identical from their clothing fashion. For example, small cities have international fashion outlets which allows people to purchase clothes from other nations and cultures. Thus, it is difficult to judge someone’s personality from clothes.

Moreover, it can create misunderstanding among the people and increase in number of misconception about someone’s culture. To explain this, it is not a ethical way to judge people on the basis of attires and fashion they choose. It might be possible that a person want some exposure to know about others traditional dress and culture, but it does not mean that he/she belongs to same culture. For instance, Salwar Kameez is a traditional attire which represents Punjab state. However, other people who are wearing same dress cannot be considered from same region. It can hurt sentiments of people if they are judge wrong on the basis of their styling. Hence, it is not an appropriate way to know about someone.

To conclude, although clothing and fashion style plays an indispensable role to know a little about people, to judge tradition, culture and character is a separate case. Owing to globalisation, it is common to see people who are wearing identical clothes but it does not prove they all are identical. It can create just wrong conceptions about culture and traditions rather than making a solid judgement.