Some people say that its better to teach language students in small class, whereas others think the number of peole does not matter. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The number of people in class is one factor that can influence the quality of learning. While some people think that a large class size offers certain benefits, I side with those who feel that having fewer students in class is more efficient.

On the one hand, it could be argued that there are some benefits of studying in a big class. Firstly, a high number of students in class can provide more diverse perspectives. For example, during class discussions, the students are able to exchange their ideas related to the topic and listen to other students’ opinions, which might be contradictory to theirs. This means the exposure to a variety of ideas in class could lead to developing a sense of respect for others, broaden their understanding of the topics under discussion, and become more open-minded, while also improving communication skills. Secondly, the students can experience teamwork. Through group work, the students learn how to complete the assignments by dividing tasks fairly. This teamwork allows them to develop important skills, such as responsibility to finish the tasks, problem-solving skills, and leadership. In other words, they are more likely to achieve better results.

On the other hand, I agree with those who argue that smaller classes have more positive sides. Firstly, the teacher can give personalised attention and focus on each student’s learning progress, which can lead to more detailed individual feedback. Because of this effectiveness, the students are able to improve their grades in lessons and make it easier for them to communicate with the teachers if they lack understanding of some materials. Furthermore, this also can lead to stronger relationships between the teacher and the students through clear communication. Secondly, in small classes, the students are able to study in a more conducive condition due to fewer distractions made from others. This condition allows the students to have better concentration which can help them to have deeper focus and understanding of the materials.

In conclusion, while large classes could provide different perspectives and experience teamwork, these advantages cannot outweigh the benefits of smaller classes, which offer individual attention from the teacher and having a more conducive class. I, therefore, remain convinced that it is better to study in a small class than a large class.