Some people say that parents need to spend time on reading or telling stories to children, while others think parents no longer have to do this because there are other sources for stories such as books, TV and the Internet. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

According to the technological enhancement, many people claim that sources of stories such as books, TV, and the Internet will no longer replace the role of parents in telling the stories for their children, while others argue that the involvement of parents in this practice is still necessary. This essay would consider both views, prior to expressing my advocacy for the latter.

First and foremost, children nowadays could have more opportunities to approach the sources of education without parents’ involvement, thanks to the advancement of technologies; e-books, TV programs, and the Internet have been launched, allowing children to approach and immerse themselves in their imaginative world. Watching fairy tales on Youtube with the appealing and animated images and well-blended sound, along with the caption, would facilitate them in boosting their cognition, language development, and stimulating creativity. Besides, a large number of Youtube channels allow children to enjoy their preferences with whatever kinds of stories that they love.

However, I am of the opinion that parents’ presence plays a vital role in this practice. During the process of learning, children would encounter some details that are confusing them, and the role of parents in this case is to explain to their children the syntax and the use of advanced grammar or vocabularies, legitimating the risk of misconception of children’s thoughts. Moreover, telling stories to children is one of the best ways for parents to upbringing their children; not only would their relationships be established and strengthened, but also fostering children’s sentimental values, while parents could easily navigate their children towards positive attitudes through the meanings behind stories.

In conclusion, although children could broaden their horizons through social media platforms, which are readily accessible, parents should spend quality time with them reading stories and explaining for them due to their comprehensive development ranging from cognition to intimate relationships.