Some people say that the experiences a child has before starting school have the most influence on their future life. Others say that experiences as a teenager, especially at school, are more influential. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

The influence of the childhood period that affects and shapes our adult lives has always been a debated topic among many peers and scientists. Some individuals believe the experiences a child lives through can significantly influence their future lives. However, others believe the events we experience and witness as teenagers, especially at school, could have a more influential effect. While I agree both arguments are valid and have their own merits, however, in my opinion, the events taking place at the early stages of childhood has a substantial effect in determining that child’s future endeavors.

On the one hand, sudden events and changes occurring in the teenage years can have an impact on an individual’s life. For example, many children experienced a great shift in mannerisms and persona after the puberty phase. Another valid reason could be how some teenagers might witness traumatizing events such as accidents and bullying that can shape the functionality of their brain chemistry and overall transform their lives forever. For instance, there are several papers describing the extraordinary effects of brain injury during the development phase of children and teenage years that could change their personality in the future. Some criminals reported that in incidents such as brain injury or being brutally teased in school, their lives were completely transformed and their brains began not functioning like they used to which eventually led to their horrible crimes. As a result, many scientific figures looked into this, and while their finalized data doesn’t excuse their actions, but proved their brain chemistry had vastly changed from that of when they were a child.

On the other hand, several scientific papers looked through the influential impact one’s childhood has on the child’s overall development of brain and skills. Subsequently, these minor and ignored life skills determine the individual’s succession or failure as part of the future society. These skills include stress management, control of emotions, communication skills, quick thinking and problem-solving, and teamwork spirit that can have an immense impact on how a child can function in school and eventually in society. Furthermore, we as humans need these skills to bond with other individuals and make relationships which are a big part of our functionality to communicate our needs in society. Thus, an individual unable to achieve the simplest yet crucial task often fails to feel worthy and whole as a person in adulthood.

Moreover, numerous scientific findings prove children raised in turbulent and abusive environments, tend to get several complex mental illnesses such as severe anxiety, depression, and panic attacks that can affect the overall quality of their daily lives. Additionally, this could affect the quality of work they represent in professional settings, making it difficult for them to maintain a long-term job. To illustrate, many individuals suffering from some kind of mental illness have said how hard it is for them to communicate their thoughts in the workplace and often opt for work from home which can be easier for them but can worse consequences on their mental health. Furthermore, scientific experts reveal that children raised in abusive households, experience severe anxiety in school and often can’t function or learn at the same pace as other pupils. As a result, they often feel unworthy and challenged individuals who can’t succeed in future endeavors, whereas their classmates go through this process with more confidence and ambition.

To conclude, while I believe both arguments have valid aspects that can have immense impact on an individual’s adulthood, however, in my view the experiences gained and witnessed during the early stages of childhood are proven to be more influential and telling of one’s future.