Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Promotion plays an important role in markets, drawing noticeable public attention, some are of the opinion that advertisements help to boost the sales of unnecessary goods, which is considered as the main purpose of advertising. From my perspective, I partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, there are many reasons that explain why the main of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. First and foremost, businesses can recover their financial resources from producing them. In this day and age, many developed products or innovations have emerged, which are unfamiliar to users and unattractive to the public. However, some companies want to recover their investment in these commodities, so they decide to use advertisements as a tool to sell them. The best example of this is solar fans, which are initially advertised as they can operate without using electricity or fossil fuel. Unfortunately, people often use air conditioners or electrical fans rather than them, so manufacturers have to promote that they can be essential in some cases, such as floods, earthquakes, or power cuts to manipulate customers.

On the other hand, although there are many essential products, companies have to invest in advertising. To begin with, they have to gain public attention in this competitive world and maximize profits. The shining example is mobile phones, which are indispensable in people’s lives. In spite of its necessity and popularity, many well-known manufacturers, such as Samsung, Apple, and Xiaomi, spend a substantial amount of money on advertising to attract users from their competitors. As a result, the promotion not only helps to highlight their commodities but also increases businesses ‘margins.

To sum up, the main aim of advertising not only assists to improve sales of goods, but also maximize profits and recover financial resources.