Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertisement plays a vital role in the business world, specifically for the marketing needs. And, it is obvious that advertise is important to product lifecycle to keep the product always like brand new. Marketing used to put so much effort to make the brand to be known for others. Usually, they advertise through social media or offline poster so they can distribute directly to people. Advertising the brand, could be easily to persuade people to buy their product. No matter the product is important or not for our life, the sales must keep growing to keep the company’s reputation. Therefore, I believe that advertising a product can increase the product sales no matter what kind of the brand is.

For instance, like household product: brooms, pooja item, weeping stick, and washroom items are advertised by famous artist. For me, those are not like something importance to advertise because it is domestic product. And some housewife, they are prefer to buy the things that they are really need without based on the brand. Without advertise it, those product can have high demand. However, the company keep advertise the product, even using the famous actor to be the role model for the advertisement. These items are among the essential which are required in household activities. But the seller, want their product sold in high volume, therefore they using the label like buy one get one, discount, cashback 10%, and so on to attract buyers.

Secondly, advertising often focuses on costumers’ desires, not on what they are really need. For example, the luxury brand or gadget, like the up to date smartphone. Smartphone always update through the year because of various new features, meanwhile the phone that we have still in a good conditions and no break at all. But people mostly buy that things just because of the trends so they are not leave behind. It is not make sense, right? Advertisement targets emotions, like happiness, success, or belonging, to make people buy their product to achieve the social states, even with an unnecessary things.

I do really agree that advertising totally helps to improve the sales of the product because their target is for company’s reputation by catching costumers emotions. With this way, they can have a high demand product. As a costumer and buyer, we are have to be wise foe the things that we buy. Think it first, weather, you really need or just want to have it in the short-term.

To conclude, sells things always need advertisement. No matter how useful the things are, the company always looking for the revenue.