Some people say that the only reason for learning the foreign language is in order to or work in foreign country.Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

There has been a growing discussion on the topic of learning a new language, whether it is needed for only work-life purposes or it is not the only vital reason to learn a foreign language. Although travelling does require ability in another language, I think that view doesn’t surpass the mentally beneficial reasons such as, brain development and chance to engage with another culture.

To begin with, most people place language learning on the top of the agenda because of personal life reasons. Hence, when moving to a new country, the first thing that comes to mind is to get basic knowledge of the spoken language there. As it is quite challenging in several nations to operate without a beginner level of knowledge, due to language boundaries. From the survey taken place across the globe, 65% of people reported an answer indicating that the main reason for getting language skills is contingent on choice either to travel or to work.

Despite the above, other people maintain the idea of broad meaning for obtaining a new language. This can be explained by the reasons for mental development and to widen geographical understanding. As an example, research done in the California Institution showed how engaging with other languages can affect neurons on the brain, and have a marked impact on the elderly to overcome brain disorders.

In conclusion, learning a new language shouldn’t be burdened just for entertaining and working purposes, but indeed for taking a closer look for understanding mental and personal development reasons.