Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

Nowadays, we can access through a computer to an infinite number of contents, a part of them unsafe. Many argue that the only solution to dangerous sites in the web is a government censorship. In this essay I will discuss the motivation for, and then against, this argument. In my opinion politics should never decide what content is accessible or not.

Firstly, it is true that children could find harmful contents on the internet. In these days, everyone can freely upload any tipe of content. Therefore, this contents could be easily reached by anyone with just a computer. For example, a curious child or teenager could stumble upon an inappropriate video, such as a violent or pornographic one. This could lead to children to get scared or even traumatized, while others could try to emulate this harmful behaviours. As a consequence, there would many psychological issues, which should be prevented.

On the other hand, internet censorship will limitate our freedom of speech. Giving the possibility to a government to decide whether a content is safe or not, could be disastrous. This kind of power could be used for political reasons. As an instance, a member of the government could control what is available on the internet, deleting the piece of information which puts his work in a bad light. As a consequence, this could expose us to high risk of a dictatorship.

In summary, navigating in the web could reserve harmful surprises. While many believe it puts young people in danger, other says we cannot let our institutions control it. In my view it is true that is unsafe for children, for this reason parents should put restrinctions, but the consequence of censorship are even more dangerous for our society.