Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given to the protection of wild animals and birds. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

It is true that a colossal number of wild animals and birds are on the brink of extinction due to humankind’s relentless pursuit of economic growth. Thus, the conservation of wildlife has always been a topic of interest. However, there are those who argue that people give too much attention and too many resources to the preservation of endangered animals. I personally disagree with this notion for the reasons provided below.

The first justification is that albeit enormous resources allocated to wildlife conservation as of late, the existence of a multitude of species is still being threatened. In fact, hundreds of millions of dollars have been spent on conservation projects such as providing shelters for endangered animals. However, recent years have witnessed the continuing demise of thousands of species, and the extinction rates are on the increase. This is a testament to how past efforts made to preserve wildlife seem woefully inadequate, let alone excessive.

In addition to this, given the inseparable relationship between human beings and wildlife, it is absurd to downplay the importance of protecting threatened species. In other words, the disappearance of a single wild species in the ecosystem can lead to disruption of the whole food chain, ultimately resulting in disastrous results for human life. African elephants are a good example. These creatures play a crucial part in the growth of crops. As such, the decline in African elephants has understandably provoked widespread concern regarding agricultural productivity.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is in the interests of mankind to put more efforts into protecting wild animals.