Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given to the protection of wild animals and birds. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

Some people believe that we are paying too much attention to and spending too much money on protecting wild animals. In this essay, however, I will challenge this school of thought.

Firstly, the amount of attention that we are paying to wildlife is far from enough. In my view, people now are occupied by a huge amount of workload when they are at school or at the workplace and an abundance of entertainment choices when they come home. Only a tiny proportion of the human population reads or watches news about how much damage humankind has done to the environment as knowing about what is trendy rather than serious environmental problems is more satisfying when they discuss with their friends and colleagues. Hence, it is sensible to conclude that more attention should be directed to preserving wild animals.

It is also unreasonable to say that too much money is being spent on the protection of wildlife as it also ensures the survival of our own kind. If some keystone animals, such as bees, died out, causing mass extinctions, and threatening our very own existence, the amount of money and manpower needed to address the resulting changes to our own habitat would far outweigh the amount spent on animal protection. To make matters worse, there is no certainty that we would be able to develop our technologies to cope with such dramatic changes since no existing technologies are making any discernible contributions to the battle against climate change, let alone the looming end of our own kind.

In conclusion, it is a mistake to assume that too much attention, manpower and money is being directed towards the protection of wildlife.