Some people say that what children watch on TV influences their behavior, while others say the amount of time children spend watching TV influences their behavior. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals are of the opinion that children’s behaviours are influenced by the things they watch on TV, while others assume that it depends on their time usage. Although both of these statements offer merits, I agree more with the latter perspective for some major reasons, which are clarified in this essay.

On the one hand, there are several persuasive rationales that explain why programs on TV have major influences on kids. Initially, as a plethora of genres from various television channels convey different information, children are likely to imitate behaviours or actions that appeal to them, affecting to their perception and conciousness from an early age. For instance, some major cartoon programs such as Cartoon Network or Disney Channel tend to display programs with numerous essential life skills inside, enabling children to navigate their lives effectively and ensuring they have adequate knowledge about the ways to live. Secondly, kids have the ability to develop their innate talents from a very young age, as a wide range of television channels showcase some episodes that may inspire motivation and passion. Therefore, parents can know more about their kids and orientate them to the most effective and comprehensive career paths.

On the other hand, opponents of the previous view claim that children’s habits are affected by the length of time they spend on television. First of all, kids are growing in a modern era with the increasing number of technology advents, so it is much easier and more convenient for them to learn about necessary life skills at home instead of going to school. Therefore, almost all of their behavious are trained through numerous lessons on television programs. This way would help their parents save a lot of time involved in travelling and allowing them to control their kids more efficiently. Second, the more time they spend watching programs, the greater their understanding becomes. To illustrate, electronic gadgets contain a wealth of useful English lectures, so they can attain a good degree of language communication just by watching tutorials on these sources.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on the influence of television on kids today, I firmly believe that parents need to control both the amount of time and the genres their children are watching.