Some people say that what children watch on TV influences their behavior, while others say the amount of time children spend watching TV influences their behavior. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The impact of television on children’s behaviour has long been a subject of debate. While some argue that the content children watch influences their actions and attitudes, others believe that it is the amount of time spent in front of the screen that has a more significant effect. Both perspectives offer valid points, but I think that the combination of both factors-time and content- play a crucial role in shaping children’s behaviour.

Those who argue that the content children watch is more influential suggest that the types of programs, movies, or shows a child is exposed to can directly affect their behaviour. It can be explained by the fact that kids often have a tendency to learn and imitate the behaviour of the surrounding world so they may unconsciously adopt the perspectives, norms from what they watch. For example, children who usually see violent or aggressive behaviour can be desensitized to such actions or even mimic them in life.

However, I am convinced that the excessive screen time regardless of the content children consume, has a detrimental effect on them. Clearly, when a child spends hours each day only watching TV, they can become addicted to it and less inclined to go out for socializing with peers or engage in physical activities. This tendency can significantly impair their development both physically and mentally, they can face some problems like obesity, social isolation and poor academic performance.

In conclusion, while the content of television programs certainly plays a crucial role in shaping children’s behavior, I believe the amount of time children spend watching TV also has a significant impact on their overall well-being.