Some people say that what children watch on TV influences their behavior, while others say the amount of time children spend watching TV influences their behavior. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over the past few years, there has been a debate on the factors impacting on young people while they observe television’s materials. Many individuals blame the content that they saw, whilst others say the length of time is the main reason. In my perspective, an increase in the duration of watching contributes a more significant effect on teenager’s actions than the matter they watch.

On the one hand, exposing to different contents on the screen can result in various actions in minors. Inceed, if young people view academic programs, it may help them broaden their horizon, perform better at school, which shows the positive effects of screen time. However, inappropriate genres such as violent series can lead to aggressive behaviour as they can imitate it at ease. For instance, according to the New York Post, 70% of young viewers can remember and copy the character’s action whether it is negative or not.

On the other hand, regardless of the material, long periods of watching can be harmful. That is to say, the longer children interact with IV, the more likely it is for them to learn by heart the experience. Consequently, the duration affects cognitive development as well as the mannerism of teenagers in the future. Studies shown by the University of Worcester have proved that too much screen time in young individuals reduce the quality of their academic performance as an example for the disadvantage of watching television in a considerable length of time.

In conclusion, both content and time can offer drawbacks for children if it is not controlled carefully. Afterward, I am convinced that the latter outweighs the former.