Some people say that what individuals do to protect cannot make difference, others say that individuals can protect environment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Given the urgent need to protect the environment, opinions divide on whether or not human’s effort can alleviate the problem of environmental deterioration. This essay will delve on the two sides of the stated argument before reaching a personal viewpoint.

It is sensible that the current level of environmental contamination is irreversible and individuals can barely make any impact to improve the situation. Many hold a common belief that the issues of climate change and pollution are so serious to the degree that people alone can hardly make any difference to the situation. Particularly, despite the constant efforts made by several organizations and trust funds worldwide to solve the problem of the deteriorating environment, we are still incessantly bombarded with negative news about the severe impacts that pollution is causing to us and the surroundings. The discovery of microplastic in marine creatures’ organs or bad air quality index in several cities around the world may perfectly epitomize the argument. Thus, it is apparent that what we have achieved so far may hardly reverse the detrimental effect we caused to nature.

However, even though there are some bad signs signaling the downgrade of the natural environment, concerted efforts by humans can actually bring about the alleviation of environmental pollution and contamination. Back to the outbreak of Covid 19, all industrial zones and manufacturing factories had to stop operating, and therefore they ceased to release fumes into the air and toxins into the ocean. Additionally, vehicles in many regions of the world could not be used due to social distancing policies. Fortunately, several signs of environmental restoration appeared, which proves that concerted human efforts can actually alleviate the problem. Provided that everyone is socially conscious, together with actions from governments worldwide, humans can replicate the same thing that happened during the Covid 19 years by limiting the operations of factories and the number of vehicles commuting on the road. This means that we are capable of making a positive impact on our natural surroundings.

To sum up, it is justifiable that individuals’ efforts can be insignificant in the process of protecting the environment; nevertheless, possibilities are that humans are still able to achieve the goal by banding together. Personally, I am convinced that as long as we join forces and act unitedly, we are likely to accomplish the aim of improving our nature.