Some people say the fashion industry is bad for the environment, as it encourages consumers to buy new clothes all the time. Do you agree or disagree?

According to some opinions, as fashion industry attract each member of the society, it can bring serious problems. I completely agree with this opinion because of several reasons, which I will discuss in my essay.

The main reason for my disagreement is that it could contribute to allocating the funds to this domain that need to be spent in order save the environment. That is to say, if companies produce and introduce new abnormal types of clothes, costing high prices, particular wealthy families may purchase them. As these families have no problem relating to the money, they may not think about the products’ price and will buy them for the money that they will spend on solving issues relating to the nature. In other words, people will not focus on environmental issues and carry on thinking about their demand. Taking the United States into account, as local people in this country are addicted to these kinds of fashions, they totally forget about the environmental threats. This suggests that the money that should be directed toward addressing particular dilemmas, is spent on other none valuable fields, and this trend may induce reliable issues.

Moreover, through prioritizing this trend, certain companies can exacerbate air pollution. In simpler terms, as we know that the materials that used to knit clothes are actually produced form factories which will definitely emit the carbon dioxide during the process. Carbon dioxide is the gas that includes much more dangerous substances in it and can contribute to contaminating the atmosphere. In Turkey, for example, there are numerous factories that produce materials for knitting fashionable clothes; and the gases that are exhausted by these factories are considered one of the main causes of air pollution. This illustrates that paying more attention to fashionable clothes, could induce one of the most common problems worldwide.

In conclusion, some think that fashions could deteriorate the environment. I totally agree with this idea, because by focusing on this trend people may be discouraged to spend money on saving the nature, and the production of the materials for clothes could evoke air pollution as well.