some people see that the internet brought people closer. others deny that, saying that the internet made communities more and more isolated. discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often discussed that the internet brings people closer, while others believe it isolated people and communities because it reduces face-to-face interaction. I agree with the former because it breaks the long-distance barrier.

The main argument that the internet brings individuals closer together is because it breaks the long-distance barrier through its tools, so maintaining relationships becomes easier. The Internet encourages the development of digital platforms that can connect people across the world. These platforms provide a medium for people to share their personal journey, and this allows their relatives to stay emotionally connected, even though they are physically not in a close proximity. To illustrate, Joe posts his achievements on Instagram and his childhood friends interact by commenting on the posts to congratulate him. I agree with this argument, since it strengthen relationships that might fade because of distance.

By contrast, views that argue the internet is isolating people relied on reduces face-to-face interaction among individuals, giving rise to individuality. By over-relying on internet platforms, there are tendencies that individuals are glued to their gadget, and spend less time on engaging in social activities. This is essentials for human beings that need intimacy, to have a meaningful direct conversation. Additionally, these would also affect communities, and in the long run can weaken social cohesion. Neighborhoods bonding might also faded, because it rely on shared physical participation. For instance, nowadays many younger generations who are internet adept do not know who their neighbours. I disagree, because the internet can be used to set up social activities.

In conclusion, while the internet maintain long-distance relationships, it also reduces direct interaction, thus isolates people and communities. Where possible, internet can be use as a tool for supporting the social agendas that engage peoples.