Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this What are the advantages and disadvantages

Nowadays, people in many parts of the world usually choose a place to live near their workplace, but it is also possible for some to decide to stay in their hometown. Some argue that living close to their birthplace can reduce stress, due to the fact that many family members stay and we would feel closer to them, while others believe it would be better for us to live in a faraway place from our hometown. This essay will show both benefits and drawbacks along with the reasons.

There are many arguments in favor of living near the place where we were born. One major benefit is enormous levels of stress can be reduced, by remembering the fact that many family members are also staying in the same area. This will indirectly support our mental health by getting closer to them.

However, some people argue against the statement that living in our birthplace gives significant benefits. Among the drawbacks, it is also evident that staying in the hometown might shrink the circle of our social lives, especially in a small village. This can affect our capability to find new jobs, for example. Another possible disadvantage could be that people would spend much more money to take transportation to go to their workplace in the city. As an illustration, in Indonesia, there is a culture called “sungkeman” where young members of the family come to their parent’s house. If they live too far from their hometown, it will be extremely difficult for them to do “sungkeman”, especially for their economic condition.

In conclusion, people are living near to their families to keep their relationship close to each other, while some argue that it could make our social circle smaller and more spending because of the distance problem.