Some people suggest that a country try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the enhancement of modernization and industrialization, food security has become a significant concern globally. Some individuals advocate for nations to prioritize domestic food production in order to maintain stability and reduce reliance on imports. While this approach offers certain advantages, I completely believe that eliminating food imports is impractical and could be counterproductive.

On the one hand, self-sufficient food supply has numerous merits for both the environment and citizens. Firstly, reducing requests for importing foodstuffs can lead to minimizing the transportation-rate, especially in flights and long sea voyages, which in turn will mitigate some green issues specifically global warming. Moreover, if a country can meet the food requirements of its population by itself, the citizens not only can enjoy local staples, which are mostly fresh and at first hand, but it is possible for them to buy these products at a lower price than foreign ones as there is no need to pay the extra cost for transportation and import tariff.

However, providing all the local consumptions domestically depends on different factors such as population and geographical conditions. For example, a country with more than a hundred million people should have enough arable land in order to meet the residents’ needs completely. In the case of geographical situations, for instance, in the middle east, growing some types of crops without using toxic chemical preservatives and consuming a huge amounts of water resources, which is considered as a global crisis, is almost impossible. That is why less or more cross-border trading for foods is always essential for many countries.

In conclusion, the noticeable matters mentioned above have highlighted the numerous advantages and disadvantages of food self-sufficiency. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that governments should balance domestic production with strategic food imports.