Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and school should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extend do you agree?

Some individuals claim that children have limited experience working and propose using their time for training before entering professional life, while still maintaining academic courses, and this proposal should be implemented for all teenagers. I am neutral with this perspective.

It is mostly true that graduate students who have both practical skills and solid knowledge find it easier to be employed in a full-time job and highly potential to develop a successful career. Because employers prioritize those who have these useful competencies, which can be found in students balancing their allocation time for practical work and coursework. The school is a suitable agency to help students develop these qualities by combining real-world skills and theoretical knowledge, which significantly increases their experiences of the working world. In addition, working while studying not only helps students to realize their potential and develop crucial professional skills but also gain invaluable practical experience and knowledge. Apart from financial rewards, students receive necessary teamwork, organizational, planning, time-management, leadership, and decision-making skills. They learn how to deal with real situations, take full responsibility for their actions, and efficiently interact with their colleagues.

Besides its benefits, this approach entails some drawbacks if schools do not have strict management. Students may tend to allocate their time to employment, such as part-time jobs, rather than studying, which consequently reduces the time available for their coursework. This could potentially result in an insufficient grasp of essential concepts or even a complete lack of understanding. Consequently, they may easily fail their final examinations, hindering their graduation and leading to frequent difficulties in the professional sphere. For instance, a survey of postgraduate students revealed that many reported regretting having spent a significant portion of their time earning money through part-time employment, ultimately failing to graduate on schedule.

In conclusion, I am in the middle with the suggestion that combining work and academic study should be implemented for those young people who lack an understanding of the professional world.