Some people that traditional games are better than modern games helping for children progress their abilities To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that conventional games are superior to their modern counterparts in terms of fostering the development of children’s abilities. Personally, I completely disagree with this statement as both games can yield equal benefits to children’s abilities.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that many traditional games can promote valuable skills in children. For example, hide and seek, a game rooted in the customs of many Asian countries, can help children to nurture their observation skills in both the hider and seeker. While the hider needs to keep their eyes peeled for potential and off-beaten hideouts, the seeker, likewise, has to invest even more effort to find their partners in even the smallest place. This, in turn, enables them to observe subtly and quickly everything happening around them, thereby reacting instantly to different circumstances and finding clues through slightest movement.

On the other hand, there exist numerous modern games, especially cooperative ones, that can develop children’s ability to collaborate. This is because such games, involving several people in a team, require these team members to coordinate harmoniously with one another, in order to achieve success. Consequently, constant collaboration digitally can familiarize children with the concept of cooperation, which means that they can adapt more quickly in times of need to collaborate with each other in real life. A case in point is PUBG, a cooperative action games on computer, demands players to form partners with each other to win the game. This game has led to many young children finding different ways to teamwork effectively with their counterparts and feeling more confident when having to do that in real life.

In conclusion, the positive impacts on children’s abilities of both digital and convention games are equally significant and cannot be compared fairly with one another. While such games like hide and seek can promote observation skills, collaboration skills can be developed through modern games.