Some people thin that the best way to solve the problem of air pollution in cities is to increase the cost of vehicle fuel. Others think that different measures should be taken. Discuss both views and give your opinion

With the advent of globalisation, issues like air pollution in major cities have become a primary concern. Some believe that the best solution to resolve this problem is to increase the price of fuel, while others think that other measures should be implemented. This essay discusses both views and concludes on why the latter is more effective.

Increasing the price of fossil fuels would force people to switch to sustainable options like electric vehicles. People will start using public transport and carpooling to commute. Moreover, they would judiciously use petrol and diesel for their personal use. While this practice might be effective to an extent, it would be unfair to people with low income. For example, increasing the price of vehicle fuel would add a burden on financially unstable families.

There are several measures that the government and public can take to reduce air pollution. For instance, tree plantation drives, spreading awareness on carbon emissions, and putting strict regulations on greenhouse gas emissions from industries. Additionally, the government can subsidise electric vehicles, encouraging the public to buy them. Educational organisations can educate children on the importance of avoiding plastic products. NGOs and communities can actively conduct campaigns to spread awareness of air pollution. Individuals should keep track of their carbon footprints and put efforts to reduce it. For example, switching from plastic to paper straws would make a huge difference in carbon footprint reduction.

To conclude, I firmly contend that increasing the cost of fossil fuels is not an effective and long-term measure to alleviate air pollution. The government and the public should join hands and collaborate to tackle this alarming issue. I strongly advocate that people make conscious efforts and do their part in reducing the air pollution in their cities.