Some people think a job not only provides income but also social life. Others think it is better to develop social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Several individuals believe that a job provides both income and a social life, while others think that it is better to develop a social life with people outside their workplace. In my opinion, although the latter approach is reasonable for gaining more knowledge and becoming a better person, I contend that it is more beneficial for people to earn money and make friends by building relationships with colleagues.

On the one hand, those who argue for developing social connections outside the company may point out the chance to become more mature and acquire more quality knowledge. This is because when people spend time building relationships with others, they can meet all kinds of individuals, from a normal person to a master; they can learn from each other, finding a diverse knowledge resource that might be useful. That sort of relationship makes them more mature, knowing more about the way the world operates. For example, this was evident in the case of Ishowspeed, an English vlogger, who always creates content about traveling around the world. He went to almost all continents, acquired many cultures, met many famous people around the world, and learned from them. As a consequence, he is more mature, knowing more about the world and people from other regions, coloring his experience. Therefore, it is reasonable to suggest that people should develop a social life outside their company.

On the other hand, I contend that building relationships with colleagues is better for gaining a higher income and career progression. Connections with individuals in the company help people work more effectively. If individuals have various alliances, they can achieve higher work quality by receiving help from workmates, doing projects together, and pursuing many more job opportunities. They might also expand their vision. As a consequence, these may upgrade them into better people with higher salaries, improving both their work and life standards. For example, this was evident in the case of ABC company in 2020, where everyone treated each other like family; they learned from their co-workers, and each weekend they held a summit to connect leaders with staff and new workers with old ones to share knowledge and visions. Consequently, their share rose significantly in 2024, making it one of the largest companies in Vietnam.

In conclusion, while creating connections outside the workplace helps people to be more mature and gain more knowledge, I am of the opinion that making friends in the company is better for making more money and also upgrading perspectives. It is therefore advisable that people spend more time creating new connections with their colleagues.