Some people think government should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help people prevent illness and disease.

Protecting public health has long been one of the most persistent challenges for governments worldwide. While acquiescing in the view that governments should place greater emphasis on mitigating accommodation problems and environmental contamination with a view to preventing illness and disease, I contend that there are also other remedies of comparable importance that are worth taking into account.

On the one hand, it seems reasonable that addressing housing and pollution-related problems has an indispensable role to play in safeguarding the public well-being. Given the increasingly serious degradation of the environment, and the rising rate of housing shortages, without the intervention of the authorities, it could increase the risk of developing various diseases and illnesses. In fact, the environment has a direct impact on people’s health, particularly airborne pollutants/ particles / toxins entering the body through inhalation while the homeless have to suffer from the elements making them more likely to get sick or even becoming a source of disease transmission when an epidemic spreads. For these reasons, environmental restoration initiatives and subsidised housing programmes should be implemented, which is beneficial to improvement of the living condition for the population, thereby the risk of multiple diseases could potentially be restricted.

On the other hand, to say that the aforementioned proposals are feasible solutions in order to avoid health problems is to downplay the importance of other equally influential determinants. First of all, a strong healthcare system should be prioritised. By doing so, disease prevention and treatment could be reinforced, enabling to curb the spread of infectious diseases effectively. Secondly, the significances of personal health cognition cannot be overstated. When people are aware of their own well-being, they tend to more proactively maintain their health such as receiving regular vaccination, having a balanced diet, and doing exercises daily. Lastly, community health education is also considered as realistic in protecting health, as evidenced by the World Health Organization, which has played a crucial role in raising awareness and encouraging preventive health behaviors among the population.

In conclusion, while it is understandable that combating pollution and housing problems are considered particularly significant to avoid sickness and medical conditions, I believe that they should not be viewed in isolation, and that other considerations, namely the robust healthcare system, personal health consciousness, health-related programmes, are equally effective approaches.