Some people think hosting major international sporting events brings a lot of advantages to a country, while others believe there are more disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In terms of the increase in the living standard and recreational demand of inhabitants, there is an indisputable tendency towards increased interest in indulging in cosmopolitan sports events, namely, the Olympic Games or football World Cup. Although one perspective argues in favour of hosting these events is squandered money, I perceive that national investment in these kinds of celebrations brings many benefits later for this country.

On the one hand, proponents accept that becoming a hosting country to invest governmental budget in multinational sports events is wasteful. One primary factor contributing to this squandering is the massive public debts that organizers and individuals have to incur. More particularly, organizing large-scale sports competitions necessitates construction and improvement of essential infrastructure, which can cost taxpayers a great deal of money.

Furthermore, most of the amenities erected for this mega event are only for temporary purpose and then normally fall into disuse. In addition, according to the World Economic Forum, despite a sure rise in the hotel’s cost in the international sports event which attracts numerous audiences from over the world, the employees’ salary remains stable. Consequently, the hotel’s staff or workers in general may suffer many troubles because they are not only overwhelmed, but also receive unworthy rewards.

On the other hand, I believe that international sports events are undoubtedly worth the investment. Foremost, the significant increase of tourists and audiences facilitates construction and service jobs for local residents. In doing so, people in the hosting region have chances to either be exposed with multicultural visitors or build global relationships, thus having the surge in growing income. Additionally, the enormous financial gain of the country hosting worldwide events is a considerable benefit. Needless to say, because the hosting nation is the place that grabs the attention of many global journalists, it is the ideal opportunity to show off their national facilities and improve the recognizability of the country. As a result, this either promotes the development of tourism or attracts foreign investment.

In recapitulation, besides the undeniable benefit of economy and tourism, there still exist some drawbacks from investment capital and specialized equipment needed for international sports events which have to be tackled to maximize its plus points.