Some people think learning a foreign language is unnecessary due to translation technology, while others say it is essential to learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In today’s globalized world, people have different opinions about learning a foreign language. While some argue that learning foreign languages is no longer necessary owing to the translation technology, there are those who support the idea that a foreign language still remains a vital part of human interaction, Although both of these argument are rational, I would agree with the latter group of people for several sound reasons.

On the one hand, people supporting the translation technology instead of wasting time and money on learning a foreign language point out that applications such as google translate and AI-based devices can translate speech, which enables people to communicate easily without knowing the language. This has greatly benefited in many fields such as tourism and international businesses. As a result of these devices, people can exchange information without spending years to learn grammar and vocabulary.

On the other hand, I believe that learning a foreign language is still important as it makes conversation more meaningful and gives an opportunity to express your feelings and emotions during the talk. Furthermore, technology is not always perfect and gives direct and common meanings of words, which might cause misunderstandings when people use words in other meanings. For example, the essay I wrote in Russian using the google translate to pass the exam when I was a university student two years ago was so confusing that I failed to pass the exam. What is more, studies have shown that learning languages improves memory and problem-solving skills.

In conclusion, the topic of whether it is necessary to learn a foreign language or not has caused a heated debate. Some people consider it to be unimportant since technology like google translate and AI powered applicants can also translate for us. Nevertheless, I think that learning a foreign language would be the best option to build a conversation with people overseas as technology may sometimes make mistakes related to the meaning of words. Moreover, mastering a foreign language fosters skills related to memory and solving problems.