Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain individuals believe that residing in the metropolitan areas is the contributing factor to decline in people’s health status. I totally disagree with the statement because other factors such as unemployment and ignorance can alter individuals well being.

To begin with, one of the main factors causing challenges to the health of the populace is lack of knowledge in the aspect of nutrition and diet. A large number of individuals consume food that are unhealthy due inability to understand the essence of good nutrition in the diet or the quality of food consumed. For example, a particular doctor in a reputable hospital in Lagos state notify pregnant women on the need to eat adequate food as he has found out that 80% of the population in the country do not know what constitutes a balanced diet which is the major cause of illness.

Another point is that unemployment affects the overall health status of people. That is to say, when masses as gainfully employed they tend to have money that can afford basic needs which include maintaining and checking their health, thus limiting health challenges. For instance, the Nigerian government last month announced on the press that the will be providing employment to the citizens since the actually cause of sickness is related to unemployment.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that mega cities is the cause of bad effect on the masses health but ignorance on the right diet and nutrition to consume as well as lack of good job opportunities.