Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that taking residence in major urbans has adverse effects on individuals’ well-being. I am convinced by this notion for several reasons.

On the one hand, living in metropolises can have a lot of positive effects on humans. More pertinently, people who work in companies located in downtowns are more likely to get a better income. Therefore, they are likely to facilitate their living standard and enjoy their lives. Another effect that needs mentioning is the increased exposure to technological breakthroughs. Citizens living in the countryside have restricted access to technological advancements, so they cannot fit in easily with the fast pace of ongoing life.

On the other hand, life in major urban areas may destroy people’s mental and physical health despite medical advancements. In order to be successful in this competitive society, job holders need to be bombarded with intense pressure and strong endurance. As a result, city dwellers tend to suffer from mental diseases such as depression and anxiety. This current phenomenon can result in social anarchy since the number of people diagnosed with mental disorders gradually increases. Next, the second reason why cities’ environment negatively influences people’s health is the air quality. Air pollution can be attributed to various sources, ranging from noxious emissions. This problem may drive city dwellers to come down with respiratory diseases at ease. To illustrate, the number of people diagnosed with lung cancer is on an upward trajectory in some cities of developed countries.

To conclude, Although living in cities can bring about immeasurable effects on income, I take the view that the deterioration of city dwellers’ health is more concerning.