Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that living in modern cities harms people’s health. I partly agree with this idea that although big cities offer certain benefits of medical system, their polluted environment can discourage people to be healthy.

Admittedly, opponents argue that residing in megalopolises is convenient for medical access. Such areas, where national hospitals land on, are renowed for an invaluable source of distinguished healthcare workers, and a wide variety of effective medicines. Indeed, the most advanced medical technologies, harnessed to treat serious health problems such as cancer and heart disease, are often firstly introduced in these cities. Consequently, some individuals prefer to live in urban areas to have instant access to the most high-quality healthcare services.

However, prevention is better than cure, since living conditions in densely populated towns are generally not as good as people often think. As many individuals reside in a megalopolis, most of land cleared to construct high buidings culminates in much less green space and even rising emission levels of greenhouse gases. This can pose severe air pollution that affect negatively the respiratory system. Moreover, the large and busy city is almost always occupied with neon signs and sounds notwithstanding day or night, leading to light and noise pollution. This is a cause of mental disorders, for example, depression and insomnia. In other words, various types of pullution in urban areas have detrimental impacts on physical and mental health.

In conclusion, I partly agree that although people may benefit from the modern medical system in big towns, their conditions can deteriorate while living in polluted areas with a high risk of serious physcial and mental health issues.