Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Living in big cities nowadays are thought to have a better life and employment by people. Urban people even think of moving to rural areas to look for more opportunities but also hesitate because they are thinking about its effects on their health when they move. In this essay, I will discuss why some people think that their health will decline when they move to modernized cities, why I highly agree with this and some examples.

Big cities do have much to offer compared with regional areas because it is much highly modernized and have more advanced technologies. Due to this, noise, air, and water pollution are very common every day because of too many people, companies, buildings, and factories that cause these. In addition, the use of cars is very common when going to work which causes heavy traffic and smoke that results in noise and air pollution. On the other hand, for example, in the Philippines, some people throw their trash everywhere due to a lack of discipline and trash cans available on the street. Sometimes, they even throw their garbage on the river which causes water to smell and turn black and might even cause infection to those who get in contact with it. Additionally, people are very busy with their work wherein they extend their hours of work which results in to lack of leisure and social time with friends and families. Because of this, it greatly affects their overall well-being, and prefers to live in urban areas more. These are some reasons why I highly agree that people’s health will deplete when living in cities because I experienced these examples.

In contrast, people in provinces are more disciplined due to how they grew up and are more on using traditional ways. Moreover, even though they are not well developed like the rural areas, they are still progressing and improving without many problems. Furthermore, the environment is quiet and less polluted and people have more time for relaxation. Although people work for 8 hours, they seem to have more time to do other things for themselves and meet with friends to destress.

In conclusion, even though lives might be better in cities, health is much more important than anything else so it is better to live a comfortable life wherein one can still attain their goals and needs in life without sacrificing their well-being.