Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely acknowledged that living in major cities has negative impacts on people’s health. This essay completely agrees with this opinion because of its effects on both people’s mental and physical health.

To begin with, there are several reasons why people believe that settling in major cities can badly impact mental health. The key rationale is the high standard and cost of living, making many young people find it difficult to afford. This is due to the competitive environment at work, they may hardly find a good job without good degrees or related certificates. As a consequence, their average incomes often cannot help them make ends meet. In addition, people who live in urban areas can be put under a heavy burden from their parents’ expectations. This is due to the thought that working and living in big cities means that they have a huge amount of money.

On the other hand, I also think that physical health would be the issue that people living in big cities have to suffer. The undeniable problems such as pollution and traffic congestion can be considered as one of the most vital situations. Take Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam as a prime example, dwellers living in these major cities have to breathe in polluted air from traffic emissions and untreated waste from factories, causing numerous health issues related to respiratory disease. Moreover, people may have to wait for long hours to go to their workplace because of traffic jams.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that living in major and populated cities can do harm for people’s well-being, from the pressure of the cost of living to their health issues.