Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Regarding the health of individuals who live in large cities, I firmly agree with the assumption that this has adverse effects on inidividual’s health. In the following essay, I will articulate my rationale for this firm stance, in addition to providing relevant examples.

First, it is essential to consider that living in large urban centers, exposes individuals to high levels of pollution. The large number of cars, in particular, exacerbates the problem. Moreover, many large cities are built around industrial sectors. As a result, on average, people in large cities experience significantly lower qualities of air, compared to the residents of small towns or rural areas.

Another important issue is the lack of physical exercise. Many large cities, lack the infrastructure necessary for walking and biking. This forces their citizens to use cars and public transportation even for commuting small distances. It is noteworthy, that many developed nations have solved this problem, by ensuring that large cities have sufficient public spaces, which are suitable for pedestrians, and by constructing bike specific lanes. Nevertheless, this issue is extremely prevalent in developing countries, where large cities are effectively concrete jungles.

Lastly, living in large urban centers has lead to societal fragmentation. Despite the fact that people are living in densely populated areas, they often lose touch with one another. This has led to isolation, which is detrimental to individuals mental health. Unlike the previous two issues, this one is more prominent in developed nations.

Objectively speaking, the data is clear. Residents of large urban centers suffer from a wider variety of physical and mental illnesses. However, the situation is not entirely hopeless. By passing proper laws and impossing regulations on polluting sectors, investing in infrastructure and constructing large public places to promote positive intractions between individuals, many of these issues can be alleviated.