Some people think mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?
Opinions are divided on whether phones should be strictly prohibited in public spaces
such as libraries, shops or public transport. I believe that such a ban would prove
problematic and that there are conferred benefits from allowing people to use their
phones in these settings. Granted, one might argue that phones should not be allowed in public areas because
the use of this device could annoy other people. A good example is that the sound of
someone talking on the phone or their notifications could distract people who are trying
to study in a library. However, this problem could be resolved without prohibiting the use
of phones completely in public spaces. A straightforward measure would be to ask
people to switch off the ringtones, turn on the vibration mode and answer their phone
call elsewhere to avoid annoying other people. To add further credence to my assertion, I note that it would also be difficult to enforce a
ban on phones in public places. This is because it would require an unimaginable
amount of manpower to make it work: it would be unthinkable to have a police officer on
each bus journey or in each shop and library to enforce the said law. Perhaps the most
frequently cited reason for using phones in public is that phone users can quickly
contact their friends or family or the police in emergency cases.
In conclusion, banning phones in public areas would neither be necessary nor plausible.
Instead, people should pay attention to how they use their device in public places so
that they can benefit from it without disturbing others.