Some people think mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often said that there should be a ban for mobile phones in public areas or on public because of disturbing phone messages and notifications. However, I believe that cell phones should be allowed to use in public places to some extent in order to ensure safety and convenience.

On the one hand, people advocating to prohibit mobile phones may have their own reasons. For example, people often go to libraries to immerse themselves in reading books in order to get useful information and constantly listening to the sound of telephone messages and notifications in libraries makes it difficult for these people to fully concentrate on their work. As a result, these individuals are likely not to do their work that they want to complete in quiet public areas. Furthermore, some people want to sleep on their way home on public transport to avoid the disturbing noise and traffic. Talking loudly through phones on public transport may cause a nuisance for these people to sleep and sometimes may cause a trouble among other people.

On the other hand, although using mobile phones in public places and on public transport can provoke disruption, it may be inconvenient for people if phones are strictly prohibited. Phones can be useful in case of emergencies; for instance, in car accidents in public areas, residents may find it challenging to call an ambulance without their mobile phones, which results in not helping people who are injured in these accidents. In addition, mobile phones allow individuals to access a number of entertainment sources so that they can enjoy some relaxing music with their earphones when taking public transport, resulting in avoiding the noise of traffic and having a rest. Therefore, simply banning the use of mobile phones can deprive people of those benefits, so it would be more beneficial if there are some guidelines to teach people about the proper usage of cell phones.

In conclusion, although the use of mobile may be a disturbance in public areas, strict prevention is not a multifaceted solution. I think that mobile phones can be beneficial if they are used properly.