Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Others think parents needn't do that as children can read books or watch TV, or movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the importance of parents’storytelling in the development of children. Although it is true that children can read books or watch TV and movies on their own, I do believe that parents should participate in this process for two main reasons.

On the one hand, there are some basic purposes why young people need to develop the habit of self – reading. First of all, it can enhance their ability of independence and self-reliance in children. When given the freedom to decide what and when to read, youngsters are more likely to feel motivated, and therefore, form a habit of regular reading which is a positive influence on their life. However, parents’ reading or telling stories to children is no longer needed in some cases. To be more specific, nowadays, children may access to a wide range of media that can be both educational and entertaining. For instance, there are numerous animated channels which teaching children about science, history, and other topics in fun and engaging ways. Thus, storytelling channels on Youtube might even outperform parents in this activity.

On the other hand, I am an advocate that storytelling’s time plays a vital role for parents to bond with their children. To begin with, in the process of reading interesting stories together, the relationships among the family members are strengthened and this will contribute to building a quality family. In other words, growing up in a stable and caring environment, children tend to become more confident and lead a more fulfilling life. Additionally, with parents’ timely guidance and explanation, children can learn significant values and morals from these stories and become responsible citizens later. This is particularly true for younger children like those under five years old or primary students who are still not mature enough to understanding of reading material on their own.

In conclusion, although it is clear that both views has its advantages, I believe that storytime between parent and child can brings benefits in bonding and the young’skills.