Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects while others believe that this is a waste of a valuable school time. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that international news should be one of the subjects to learn in secondary school, whereas others argue that there is no need to spend important school time learning useless information. While some news could not make sense and may distract students, some political news can impact international situations dramatically. Therefore, I think studying the current situation of other countries is crucial.

On the one hand, some news contains fake information that could interfere with understanding the general picture of the world situation. As a result, many students can lose interest in studying international news and become careless about their contribution to further problems. For instance, in 2022, there were many fakes about the war in Ukraine, and adults from other countries stopped reading that news because they could not distinguish fakes from reliable news, not to mention children. It led to the reduction of support and some problems in Ukraine.

On the other hand, being aware of what happens in other countries can be beneficial and help to react quickly if it relates to the student’s country. In other words, awareness allows us not only to avoid conflicts with neighboring countries but also to know the ways this news impacts students’ country. As a good illustration, a lack of knowledge of the intentions of Russia made people have a distorted understanding of the situation in general and led to the situation when nobody was ready for the war in early 2022.

In conclusion, while some individuals believe that there is no need to pay attention to international news, others say that students should know about the global situation. I support the idea that it is essential to be aware of the current situation in other countries as it allows them to prevent negative consequences if some countries impact conditions in a home country.