Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The debate about whether students should be taught the science of food and how to prepare it or schools should solely continue with the traditional curriculum is interesting and very vital, especially in the times we all live.

On one hand, the advocates for food science to be included in the curriculum argue that it imparts practical life skills to the students. The times we live in where the food we consume and the way it is consumed have become very important and essential due to increasing cases of obesity, diabetes, and heart disease. Knowing how to prepare food and the nutritional value each food contains can aid students in having a healthy diet and leading a disease-free life. In a world where all kinds of diseases are on the rise, understanding the science behind food becomes a necessity. Additionally, cooking food teaches other life skills such as time management, productivity and having a knowledge of where the food comes from helps to create a general awareness amongst the youth. This practice can also help students to understand the global problems.

On the other hand, people argue that school should be reserved for more core subjects such as English, Science, and Mathematics which can prepare students for the job market that they have to be ready for in some years. Also, learning these subjects can help them in their intellectual development and the growing need for technical and scientific literacy. Many believe that school time should not be spent on subjects like food science rather they should be conducted during the extracurricular programs or should be taught at home, allowing school time to be focused on essential academic projects.

In my opinion, schools should be a place where students are not only prepared for the intellectual world but are also taught the life skills that are very essential in the life. While academic subjects are undeniably important and form the core, integrating food science as an elective is equally important which can promote their wellbeing. It doesn’t have to take time away from core subjects but can be introduced in a way that complements students’ overall development.

In conclusion, while core academic subjects are vital for career success, the importance of food science and preparation cannot be overlooked, as it directly impacts everyday health and life. A balanced approach that incorporates both academic and practical subjects will better serve students in the long run.