Some people think students should volunteer to do unpaid work to benefit the community. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often true that learners should devote more time to do some unpaid voluntary work. From my perspective, I totally agree with this statement for many reasons.

A valid reason is that students could gain experience and help their community. To illustrate, high school seniors could spend their free time in some community, activities including charity organizations, food banks and the children’s summer camps. Therefore, they might improve their communication skills and get real-world experience. Moreover, these experiences could be added to their resumes, increasing their chances to compete for good positions. This may be due to the fact that many employers often search for clerks who have soft skills and are able to serve their clients.

Another reason to consider is that the students could use this unpaid work experience to make friends and widen their network. This might be helpful to improve their social skills and can open doors for future opportunities. In other words, learners may be able to introduce themselves to many businessmen who could have some real work opportunities. Thus, high school seniors might be able to have real work after graduation. Additionally, the usage of leisure time in helping others is better than losing all-time glued to a screen playing video games from which students would not learn any new skills.

By way of conclusion, students should use their time to serve their community by doing unpaid work. I hold the notion that those social activities could be beneficial for the learners, in terms of improving socialization, gaining experience and widening their network.